Skip to content

Telltale’s The Walking Dead: a Quick Overview on a True Triumph of a Game.

March 25, 2013

Image

Hope everyone had a good weekend. While I have been sitting here patiently waiting for the release of Bioshock: Infinite, I decided to finally play Telltale’s Walking Dead game. I bought the full season back around Christmas time but it has sitting on my PS3 hard drive ever since. I am glad I made the time for it because it is a great unique game.

NB: This isn’t going to be a lengthy in depth review. Just a quick one to tell you all the good things about it!  

 

****

SYNOPSIS & GAME PLAY OVERVIEW

 

So, The Walking Dead is a episodic point-and-click adventure role-playing game released by Telltale Games. It is based on the comic book series of the same name. When I first started playing this game I wasn’t sure about it. All it seemed to be was a movie wherein you pressed a few buttons and chose what to say to the other characters. It certainly wasn’t the high-action zombie-killing first person shooter that you would expect from a game sharing the same name as the gruesome TV show and comic book series. However, after half an hour I was invested.

This game has some of the best characters and story that I have ever seen in a game. You start the game as Lee Everett, a convicted murderer who is being transported to prison when the whole zombie apocalypse happens. Your driver crashes and dies and you are left to fend for yourself, while trying to figure what the hell is going on. Within the first 10 minutes of the game you meet Clementine, a charming 8 year old whose babysitter has been killed. Throughout the game you travel with Clem as you try to find somewhere safe. You meet a variety of people and have to make some very tough calls throughout. Will you lie about your past? Will you kill someone who is bitten? Who will you side with when there are arguments? These are some of the calls you will make that will change the small details of the game.

The story is very emotional, or at least I found it so. You find yourself really investing in some of the characters and doing your best to protect them, especially Clem. But things go from bad to worse as the story goes on. You will find yourself dealing with some really horrendous stuff! I was shocked about the dairy farm revelation. I will not say more on that as I don’t want to ruin it. By the end, I was well and truly depressed to say the least. I knew it didn’t end well but I wasn’t expecting it to be quite so crushing.  I couldn’t believe how attached I had become to some of the characters. Even more so than on the TV show.

Image

Lee and Clementine in The Walking Dead Game

****

 

GOOD POINTS ROUND-UP

 

  • Great Story and Really Great Characters which will get you invested in the game. The story really is it’s selling point. It’s like watching a TV show but you get to decide what happens. Unsurprisingly,  immersion is really good in this game.
  • Choices: I love a game that changes depending on your decisions. It also gives it a lot of replay value as you will want to play again to see what would be different. I also found it quite interesting to see what choices I would make when pressured.
  • Stats: The game also tells you how many players made the same decision as you. It’s pretty intriguing to find out if you were in the majority in the choices you made
  • Emotional: As I’ve said, this game is pretty emotional. Due to being pressured into making decisions and quickly, you will find yourself getting anxious or excited. This is multiplied by the fact that  your decision might change the story.
  • You Can Rewind: If you feel you have made the wrong decision and really want to change it, you can revert back a little to change it.

 

****

SO WHAT’S BAD THEN?

Usually I have a bad section for games but I wouldn’t say there is anything inherently bad about this game expect the story is really depressing which is actually a good thing. Although I wouldn’t say the game is for everyone. And you will be disappointed if you play it not knowing the type of game it is. Also, I did find it to be a bit glitchy at times and had to reset once due to a mapping bug. However, I managed to fix it with one reset.

****

THERE’S GOOD NEWS FOR FANS

The good news for fans is they are currently making a new one! And in the meantime they are planning on bringing something else out to tide us over. Also, they are working on making it so that your choices in the first season affect the intricacies of the second one. Release for season two is estimated for Q3 of 2013. I’m excited for that!

****

VERDICT

It was a truly tremendous game and I look forward to the second one. Which is why I give it 

9/10! MUST PLAY!

So then, have you played the walking dead game? What did you think? Did you find it as emotional as me? I’m interested in hearing what you think below 🙂

 

From → Games

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

